Deals & ConsolidationTX-4CFE
Sysco Buys Its Way Into Cash-and-Carry With $29.1B Deal
Sysco enters the cash-and-carry wholesale channel via a $29.1 billion acquisition, per The National Provisioner — the foodservice giant's biggest structural move into self-service distribution.
- Scan date
- September 30, 2026
- Handle time
- 3 min
- Ticket
- TX-4CFE

Packing list
Sysco has entered the cash-and-carry channel through an acquisition valued at $29.1 billion, The National Provisioner reports.
The acquisition, rather than organic build-out, gives Sysco an established position in a self-service wholesale format it previously did not operate.
The report does not disclose the target's identity, revenue, footprint or financing terms, leaving the valuation multiple untested against disclosed volumes.
Sysco has entered the cash-and-carry channel through an acquisition valued at $29.1 billion, according to a report from The National Provisioner. The deal marks the Houston-based broadline distributor's most significant structural move into a wholesale format it has historically left to rivals.
The reported transaction value of $29.1 billion would rank it among the largest deals ever recorded in food distribution. For context, the figure exceeds the enterprise values of most listed foodservice distributors and approaches the scale of the sector-defining consolidation deals of the past two decades. The National Provisioner's headline did not disclose the identity of the acquisition target, the payment structure, or the expected closing timeline, and those details will determine how the transaction affects Sysco's balance sheet and leverage profile.
What the move signals strategically is clear. Cash-and-carry — the self-service wholesale format in which restaurants, caterers and independent retailers buy inventory on the spot, typically with cash or card and no delivery — sits adjacent to Sysco's core broadline business but serves a different customer economics profile. Margins in the format tend to run thinner per case than delivered broadline distribution, but the model carries no last-mile delivery cost, requires no sales force coverage per account, and shifts inventory risk to the customer at the point of sale. Inventory turns in well-run cash-and-carry operations frequently exceed those of delivery-based distribution because stock is monetized at the warehouse door.
That economic profile explains why the channel has attracted distributor capital across geographies. In Europe, Metro AG built a multi-decade cash-and-carry franchise before retreating from Asia; in North America, Restaurant Depot's owner-operated warehouse clubs have captured significant share of independent restaurant purchasing without a delivered product at all. Sysco's entry via acquisition, rather than organic build-out, suggests the company opted to buy established customer traffic and warehouse footprints rather than fund years of greenfield development.
The margin question will dominate analyst scrutiny. Sysco's delivered broadline model depends on route density, drop sizes and private-label penetration to defend gross margin. Cash-and-carry customers are price-transparent, comparison-shop aggressively, and buy in variable volumes — a mix that pressures gross margin per case but removes the delivery cost line that consumes a substantial share of broadline operating expense. Whether the acquisition is margin-accretive depends on whether Sysco can apply its purchasing scale — the core source of its supplier leverage — to the acquired format's cost of goods without eroding the traffic that makes the model work.
Channel power is the other variable. Sysco already exerts substantial influence over food manufacturers through its purchasing volume across the U.S., Canada, the U.K. and its international units. Adding a cash-and-carry network extends that leverage into a channel where suppliers have historically maintained more direct relationships with end buyers. Manufacturers selling into both Sysco's delivered business and its new self-service warehouses will face consolidated negotiating positions they did not previously confront.
What remains unmeasured at this stage is nearly everything analysts need to judge the deal. The National Provisioner's report, as carried in its headline, confirms the channel entry and the $29.1 billion figure but does not disclose target revenue, store or warehouse count, geographic footprint, expected synergies, or financing terms. Until Sysco files deal documents or holds an investor call, the valuation multiple embedded in the price cannot be tested against the acquired asset's disclosed volumes.
The strategic direction, however, is consistent with the consolidation pattern across food distribution: scale operators are buying adjacency — new formats, new customer types, new routes to the same end market — rather than expanding within a single format. Sysco's move into cash-and-carry signals that the company views the independent restaurant and small-operator segment, the core cash-and-carry customer base, as better served through a second format alongside its delivered business. Expect further detail on target identity, financing structure and synergy targets to determine whether the $29.1 billion price reflects measured volume economics or a premium paid for channel position.
via Google News: Cash and carry (Source)
More from Priya Raman
Show full bio
Correspondent covering technology and product news in Wholesale and distribution industry coverage for B2B professionals at Distribution Brief.
125 articles