Grocery & Food SupplyTX-A7EB
Ahold Delhaize Web Outage Enters Fifth Day Across Four US Banners
Five-day web shutdown paralyzes direct digital ordering at Food Lion, Hannaford, Stop & Shop and Giant Food after a Sunday cybersecurity incident — Ahold Delhaize's second major breach in two years.
- Scan date
- October 16, 2026
- Handle time
- 3 min
- Ticket
- TX-A7EB

Packing list
Ahold Delhaize's U.S. e-commerce channels have been offline for 5 consecutive days as of Friday
Affected U.S. banners: Food Lion, Hannaford, Stop & Shop and Giant Food
Cybersecurity incident detected Sunday; websites and apps taken offline Monday
November 2024 attack affected more than 2 million U.S. customers, per company disclosure
European sites of Albert Heijn, Delhaize, Etos, Gall & Gall and bol.com also impacted; physical stores remain open
By James Calloway
Ahold Delhaize's U.S. e-commerce channels have been dark for five consecutive days, paralyzing direct digital ordering at Food Lion, Hannaford, Stop & Shop and Giant Food after a cybersecurity incident the retailer detected last Sunday. The Zaandam, Netherlands-based company first took the websites and mobile applications offline on Monday. Physical grocery stores, in-store pharmacies and gas stations continue to operate.
The outage marks the second major cyber event to strike the group in under two years. A November 2024 attack affected more than 2 million customers across the company's U.S. stores, disrupting deliveries, payment processing, in-store pharmacy operations and online portals at the affected banners.
"Protecting our infrastructure in the best interest of our customers, associates and partners is a top priority," Ahold Delhaize said in a written statement. "We apologize for any inconvenience this issue may have caused customers and partners."
A separate Stop & Shop service-disruption notice reads: "We know you count on us to make shopping easy and convenient, and we're sorry for the disruption."
What channel exposure does the outage reveal?
The outage strips the four affected banners of their first-party e-commerce channel (orders placed directly through the retailer's own site or app, rather than through a third-party platform) for five days running. Distribution-side, that volume now routes through third-party aggregators DoorDash, Instacart and Uber Eats, all three linked from the Stop & Shop service notice.
Aggregator take rates — the percentage of each order the platform retains as a fee — typically run higher than a retailer's own digital channel. The gap compresses per-order gross margin (the revenue retained on each order after subtracting the direct cost of goods sold) on every transaction during the outage. The company has not published transaction-volume figures for the affected banners during the shutdown period.
The retailer has promised refunds for any digital orders placed but not processed. It has not stated whether the refund covers goods, delivery fees or both. Refund mechanics matter: suppliers carrying slow-turn inventory (stock with low sales velocity relative to shelf time) cannot absorb the gap if Ahold Delhaize rejects deliveries against cancelled orders.
What has Ahold Delhaize disclosed — and what has it not?
The retailer's statement frames the takedown as a protective measure, taking systems offline to "shield against further disruption." No data-exfiltration claim has been made. No threat actor has claimed responsibility. The company has not named a forensic vendor, has not disclosed a restoration timeline, and has not quantified lost e-commerce transaction volume.
Each omission is material: distributors and suppliers pricing the channel cannot model five-day margin exposure without those inputs. The retailer has also not confirmed whether point-of-sale systems, loyalty databases or supplier-facing inventory portals have been touched in the incident.
How does this fit the prior pattern?
The European sites of Albert Heijn, Delhaize, Etos, Gall & Gall and bol.com have also been affected, though Ahold reports physical stores across both continents continue to operate. The November 2024 disclosure — more than 2 million affected customers, multiple operational subsystems impaired — followed the same pattern: limited technical detail, broad operational impact, no named attacker.
A separate Sunday incident at an unnamed European retailer drove refrigeration systems at hundreds of French supermarkets to roughly 50 degrees Celsius (about 122 Fahrenheit) for approximately six hours, producing widespread food loss. Ahold Delhaize has not linked the two events, and has not confirmed any overlap in attack vector (the method or pathway used to compromise a system).
What is the forward read?
Until Ahold Delhaize publishes a forensic post-mortem with restoration dates and verified scope figures, distribution partners should treat the direct digital channel of Food Lion, Hannaford, Stop & Shop, Giant Food and the named European properties as impaired. Expect elevated aggregator reliance and compressed per-order margin through the duration of the outage. A written accounting remains the only document that will reset channel assumptions — and Ahold Delhaize has not signaled when one will arrive.
via Supermarket News (Source)
More from James Calloway
Show full bio
Senior reporter covering regulation, policy and their impact on Wholesale and distribution industry coverage for B2B professionals at Distribution Brief.
138 articles